Worthless Online
Top
New
Jorge
Archive
Extras
Forums
About
E-mail
Reviews
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Holiday Club
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009

Another fantastic review by fantastic yours truly! This place? This Holiday Club place? Apparently, Chicagoan Vince Vaughn was/is a frequent visitor, which I guess would be a big deal if you were a huge fan of his work.

Holiday Club

Now don't get me wrong, I like the guy. He's made some good movies, on and off, depending on the movie. It's just...if I saw him in public, I don't think I'd scream, "Hey, everybody! Look! There's Sean Connery! THERE'S SEAN CONNERY!!!!" like I would if I saw, say, Sean Connery. (That's just me, though.)


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Laurie's Pizza and Liquors
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.05.2009

This is one of my favorite reviews. Mostly because the venue was a nasty fucking pizzeria and liquor store hybrid. No, you read that correctly: a pizzeria and liquor store hybrid. I feel like Marge Simpson: "Now I've heard everything!"


The best part, though, was that they sold Diet Rite by the liter. It was like I'd been transported to an alternate universe adjacent to our own...where the only upside was that they had Diet Rite by the liter.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: InnBar
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009

InnBar was a hilarious place to review, specifically because A) not a single human being was there save for the bartender and myself and B) I don't drink alcohol.


My point being, it was incredibly fucking awkward. "Err...uhm...is...can I have...can I get a, uhm...what I mean to say is...is...are...are Diet Coke r-r-refills f-f-free, kind sir?" The moral of the story is, no, Diet Coke refills are not free. Not at InnBar, anyway.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Books in the City
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009

Books in the City was a fairly cool, fairly small book store over in Lincoln Park that I reviewed. 

Books in the City

It's also one of the few bookstores in the whole of Chicago, excluding chain stores (like Barnes and Noble) and comic book stores, that I visited more than once. Which is saying a lot, considering I hated going to Lincoln Park for anything other than delicious cookies.



READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Big Jones
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009
Big Jones was a restaurant in my neighborhood, which made it convenient as hell to review.


If my recollection of the evening is accurate, I believe my girlfriend went to the bathroom here after dinner and the stall door fell down on top of her. Good times.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Frango Café
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009
Here's a review I wrote about a chocolate store hidden deep inside Chicago's Macy's.

Frango Cafe

Enjoy. Or don't. No skin off my back.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Crisp
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009

Hands down, Crisp in Lakeview has the best chicken wings in Chicago. Even better than Chili's.

Crisp

Seriously, though, if you live in Chicago and consider yourself a buffalo wing aficionado, you'd be massively remiss if you didn't go down there immediately and order as many Crispy BBQ wings as your wallet will allow. Massively. Remiss.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
Benjamin Andrew Moore Venue Review: Affinia (Chicago)
Posted by Benjamin Andrew Moore - 9.04.2009
Reviewing entire hotels is less fun than it looks like, take it from me.

Affinia

If you're ever in Chicago and in need of a hotel, you could probably do worse than Affinia.


READ FULL POST | ADD COMMENT
New Jorge! Archive Forums About (c) BAM Videos Links Reviews Features Misc. Extras Reviews